Easy Peasy Pie: My favorite summer dessert

Ok, as most people close to me know I have a major sweet tooth. I love cake, cupcakes, pies, chocolate, you name it! But sometimes desserts can be a little too much when the weather gets warmer and I like something sweet but not too heavy.

Problem solved! My aunt began making a banana creme wafer pie that my sister and I ask for as gifts for our birthday because we love it THAT much! The best part? it doesn’t take long to make, and it goes great with fresh fruit! Not to mention, it is so light (and yummy) that I have to admit, I’ve eaten it for breakfast before.


Since this has become one of my favorite and easy desserts to eat, it has also become one of my favorite to make. It only takes a few ingredients and can be ready to enjoy in just over an hour! I wanted to share my version of this quick and delicious recipe so others could enjoy it too!

Here’s what you will need: (Makes enough for roughly, 4 to 5 people)

  • 9-inch pie plate 
    • You can totally decide the pie plate you want to use depending on how many people you are making this pie for. Obviously, if you are making for more than 4 – 5 people, maybe make 2 pies. Otherwise, modify the recipe as needed!
  • 2 packs of instant banana pudding
  • 2% Milk
  • A box of Vanilla Wafers
  • 2-3 Bananas (depending on the size)
  • Cup of blueberries (optional)

Instructions:

  • Make the pudding as instructed on its box and let it sit in a separate mixing bowl until needed
    • Note: Normally, I add a little extra 2% milk and beat it with a hand mixer for a little longer to make it as fluffy and thick as possible for a creamier pie.
  • Layer the bottom and all along the inner perimeter of your pie dish with vanilla wafers to act as the pie crust. Layer the pie dish with the rounded top side of the wafer DOWN.
  • On top of the wafers, put down a layer of bananas
    • You make want to toss your bananas lightly in a bowl with about a tablespoon of lemon juice and just lightly cover them so they don’t turn brown before your guests can enjoy their pie.
  • This is where you can take the option to gently mix in your blueberries with your pudding mixture before putting it in the pie dish. It adds a bit of a surprise and a sweet taste to every bite. I personally, would always choose to put them in.
  • Then, pour in all your banana pudding and smooth it all out over your bananas and wafers.
  • Next, go around the top perimeter of your pie dish and create a circle of wafers. (as shown above..)
  • Feel free to decorate the top of your pie however you like. In the picture above, I created a little flower with my remaining banana slices and chocolate chips. Sliced strawberries are also a perfect topping to place on the top of your pie.
  • FINALLY, refrigerate you pie for at least an hour. For maximum enjoyment, make sure to refrigerate your pie leftovers!

Enjoy! 🙂

Xo, Alicia

7

Leave a Reply

