Warming up to Spring: Sporty & Casual

fullsizerender-292.jpg

Finally, warmer weather in Upstate New York.

Now, that doesn’t mean anything above 55 degrees, but for those who have been suffering the winter of the north-east… 55 is pretty nice…

When I’m not working, I tend to dress pretty casually and I love a comfortable outfit that can work for going to class, going to a quick meeting, running errands or grabbing a bit to eat.

This outfit is the epitome of what comfortable spring style looks like to me. A dark pair of jeans with a soft jersey knit tee shirt and some comfortable sneakers is my go-to for days like this.

 Popular for this spring season is a sporty look with comfortable pieces that can be stylish at the same time.

Keep reading to find out what pieces I am wearing and where to find them….

FullSizeRender 25

 First, to address this denim/leather bomber jacket. Not only are bombers totally in right now but purchasing a jacket that is made of more than one fabric or texture can really add to any outfit. Find one like mine here.

FullSizeRender 33

Second, my super comfy Old Navy long sleeve tunic. I don’t have to say much about this essential wardrobe item. Old Navy’s long and short sleeve tee’s are some of my favorite. They are not only incredibly soft but they keep their shape and are very flattering. I’m a big fan of stripes so, I definitely couldn’t leave the store without this item. Old Navy 100% got it right when they created this tee. It is the perfect amount of stretch matched with a perfect length for jeans, leggings, or to even be tucked into trousers. To get this top, click here.

FullSizeRender 30

Third, the shoes. Leather slip on sneakers are on of the shoes on trend for the year. You can basically find them in any store and they add a subtle touch of chic to any casual outfit. The most important I MUST stress…be careful when buying leather sneakers! If they do not fit you perfectly, you could run into some very painful heels halfway into your first wear. Make sure you invest in a great shoe with support that fit you just right. This way, you can wear these all day regardless of how much you are walking. To get my shoes, click here.

IMG_7204

Fourth, the jeans. Arguably my favorite part of any outfit. I LOVE JEANS. This pair of dark denim skinny jeans is one of my favorites that I own and it’s probably because they are comfy and never, EVER lose their shape. No surprise, they were made by Gap. Gap is the maker of some of my favorite jeans (aka I am a jean hoarder/own too many pairs) and I’m certainly not the only one who feels this way. If you invest in a pair of jeans that fit you comfortably and are from gap, I guarantee you will not regret it. To score these great pants, click here.

FullSizeRender 34

Finally, the accessories. I’ve said before that I rarely sport a lot of jewelry but I LOVE rings. Normally, I wear a few Pandora rings, which are my favorite and you can shop here. But the thumb ring I am wearing here is from Alex & Ani. I have always been a fan of their jewelry but their new collection of numerology rings are certainly my favorite by far. They do not tarnish and they are adjustable to your size, so what could be better?! Plus it’s fun to learn a little bit about numerology while finding out about what number represents you. To shop this collection from Alex & Ani, click here.

AND for my leather card holder, which is super convenient when I don’t want to carry a wallet or bag, is a DIY project of mine. I’ve always loved sewing things by hand and I’ve especially always loved leather goods, so recently I decided to take initiative and do something I have always wanted to do. Quality leather goods are also important to me, so being able to make something for myself, make sure it was well made and would last through years of use was rewarding. (considering starting a store of handmade small leather goods on Etsy……)

Thanks for reading!

Xo,  Alicia

7

Leave a Reply

