Welcome Spring: An Ode to a New Pair of “Mom Jeans”

FullSizeRender 25

Happy Day!

 Or happy season, I should say. Why is that? Because it is officially spring and coming from someone who lives in Upstate New York, I couldn’t be more thrilled to welcome the season that warms everything and what winter has touched, starts to thaw.

The highest temperature in New York’s Capital Region for the week is 50, but if the sun gets bright enough on days over 40, that might mean rolling a window or two down.

FullSizeRender 28

Sadly, I couldn’t welcome spring with a true “spring” outfit but as the warmer weather nears… the layers I put on in the morning, must decrease. Waking up on the first day of spring with the remnants of 2 feet of snow from the past week on the ground isn’t ideal, but with the sounds of birds chirping and a chance to put on some new sunglasses, it wasn’t the worst way to start a day where I have a full schedule and will be running around from work to classes until 9 p.m.

Jeans: I normally like to start my outfits with a piece to build the rest around, so today I chose my new Garage Clothing jeans. Garage, the Canadian outfitter, who has made their way into American malls, isn’t necessarily known for their jeans but I can stand by them and say that its one of the comfiest pairs of denim jeans I’ve ever worn. Not to mention, THANK GOODNESS, vintage jeans are on their way back to fame. No wonder why so many decades were filled with classic high waisted, high-quality jeans. there is a small list of things better than a pair of jeans that don’t lose their shape and are comfortable at the same time. I have to admit, I laughed a bit when I realized they are calling their new style of jeans, “mom jeans” because I promise you won’t feel like a mom in these. If these jeans represent how moms feel in their jeans, then moms are even more fabulous than I had thought. You can shop the collection of jeans here.

FullSizeRender 27

Top: My top is also one of my favorite pieces in my wardrobe. A classic button up that can dressed up or down is a closet must have that I swear by. A white button up or even one with a little pattern or design can change a boring sweater into a chic statement on a cold day or make a mini-skirt a little more conservative and perfect for work. This particular button-up from my large collection is from H&M. You can shop the look here.

Trench coat: I think that a tan trench coat is another closet must have. You can literally pair a trench coat with everything and I promise it will make most outfits a little more clean and crisp than before you put it on. But, investing in a good trenchcoat is also crucial. The maker of the most popular trench coats in the world, Burberry, doesn’t make them expensive and over $1000 for just any reason. A good trench coat takes a little bit of extra material that can keep you warm when necessary but also needs to be breathable for warm spring days. A good trench coat is so important to me that it really deserves its own post. (maybe coming soon…) But in the meantime, if you’re looking for a trench coat that’s tested and approves and won’t empty your bank account, go here.

FullSizeRender 29

FullSizeRender 24

Accessories: Now, for arguably the most important part…. the accessories. For this outfit and many other outfits of mine, I find it important to accessorize in a way that’s comfortable for you. I’m not a person who wears a lot of costume jewelry or wears anything on the regular that makes a big statement on its own. Putting different materials togeather is my favorite way to accessorize, this way it keeps it simple but still, personalizes to the look that you are trying to achieve.

So….. The boots are suede. The bag is (faux) leather and suede (AND I found it at Forever 21 for $6.99, which essentially means I couldn’t leave it on the shelf) so they compliment each other without getting too complicated. After all, it may have been the first day of Spring but it was also a Monday.

To get accessories like ↑ this ↑ click on the links here → → 1. Shoes 2. Bag 3. Sunglasses

FullSizeRender 30

FullSizeRender 26

So even if it is a Monday and you don’t feel like accessorizing (or getting out of bed), skip picking out jewelry and play with some different fabrics and/or materials instead.

Xo,

Alicia

7

 

One thought on “Welcome Spring: An Ode to a New Pair of “Mom Jeans”

Leave a Reply

